In which I rant and stuff.

Remember, faithful reader: in last post , I promised to elaborate on the topics I discussed during my appointment with the naturopath.

First things first, I used the appointment as an excuse to rant against the morons that I encounter on a regular basis and who insist on letting me know what a terrible idea vegetarianism is, how poorly the likes of me age, and how dull my life must be since all I eat is grass and vegetables. Since I’m on the polite (shy’s more like it, actually) side, I usually shrug it off, but sometimes the urge to scream, “Mind your own business” gets overwhelming. I consider myself a rather educated eater, if only because I do question what’s on my plate and how it affects me, but I certainly don’t go around spreading the good word on Eating Right. So why do other people feel compelled to do so? And more importantly, what makes them think they’re allowed to? I’ve done my homework and read about the links between meat consumption and tumor growth, but do I go rubbing it in people’s face while they’re wolfing down pork chop? Nope. First, I’d feel like a complete asshole, and secondly, what do I know? I chose to believe that eating the way I do would grant me a better health, and hopefully a longer life, but that’s pretty much it: a belief based on facts arranged in a certain way. Meat-eaters could probably point me to studies showing that meat consumption is okay… and that’s fine. To each his or her own. Why can’t most people see that?

This time, my naturopath graced me with anecdotes of her own. She gave birth to a little boy last year, meaning she’s in the middle of first year’s well-baby-exams, and she’s facing everything from snarky comments and eye-rolling regarding her job, to downright worry that she’s going to kill her child with her crazy hippie cures (such as oligotherapy which, interestingly enough, is described by Wiki P.  as being the supposed therapeutic use of trace elements. More on oligotherapy here). Perhaps naively, I’d always thought that, as a health practitioner, she would be better armed than I was to shut stupid people up, but as it turns out, sometimes it gets to her too. This made me feel both better and worse… she concluded her story with the saying, live happily, live discreetly. I’m sure some of you loud-mouthed people would disagree; you could argue that people won’t revise their opinion of plant-based diets until they face people assertive enough to give meat a bad name and/or advocate for greens. And you’d be right. But I believe that people won’t change their mind until they’re ready to do so; no amount of preachy talk is going to speed things up. I, for one, hate to be told that “I’d better eat/look/live differently”, so why should I force my ‘knowledge’ on someone else?

Ah, real life. Can’t live without it, can you? /snark This is one of the things I love about the internet. With the notable exception of trolls, it’s one of the few places where you can ramble on the wonders of, say, green for breakfast, aromatherapy, hell, your take on life, without getting the Look, or — worse — the Talk (“No meat? Not even fish? Really?”). Do you ever get these? I’m curious. How do you deal with them?

Since I’d like to broach subject #2 without sounding (too much) like a corny drama queen, I’ll just say that I’ve been devouring Ricki Lake’s and Abby Epstein’s book, Your Best Birth. (I’m happy to say my copy has a much more sober, less hysteric-happy cover.) I’m halfway through it, and hoping the knowledge will come in handy later this year (hint, hint). The french and US health systems are different, but the general advice still stands — know your options, make educated decisions, take back the birth experience.

As mentioned above, my naturopath practitioner gave birth last year, and she was kind enough to share some of her experience as well as more theoretic information. I’m confident I’ll change my mind several times before it’s time to make a definitive choice, but right now I’m thinking midwife and hospital-based birthing center. Not that there is any rush to make choices… no baby making for now — only one-track-minded reading and heavy daydreaming. But yes, there is a possibility that the blog addresses survival of the species every now and then. 😉

And now that I’m done rambling, on to food! I was feeling extra health-virtuous this week-end, so while on my grocery raid, I thought I’d try edamame and picked this product. The label read like it could be served either cold or hot, as an appetizer, but it tasted awfully bland, so I decided to use it as a base for hummus. I like the regular, chick-pea based stuff better, but if you end up with some of these sad little beans left, give them a hummus make-over!

Edamame hummus

Blend, serve, enjoy!

Edamame hummus

200g edamame beans, rinsed • 1 clove garlic, minced • 1 tbsp olive oil • 1 tbsp tahini • 1 tbsp lemon juice • 1 tsp cumin • 1 dash salt

Just put all the ingredients in your food processor, and get blending! If the texture is too thick, add water, or best, the soaking water you’ll have saved.

Especially nice with crackers. One word on the quantities: if you’re not crazy about garlic, use only half a clove.

banana soft serve and chocolate frosting

Sweet, sweet dessert. Le sigh.

I used my mom’s staying at our place as an excuse to make banana soft serve — again — and thaw out some of Ricki’s insanely delicious healthy frosting. Banana ice cream topped with rich chocolate… you could almost say decadent, but it was 1. healthy 2. vegan, and 3. so damn good that you’d better go and make some like, right now.

Enjoy the rest of your week, people!

One Comment on “In which I rant and stuff.”

  1. […] including Andrea (for Miss E’s birthday); Johanna (on Earl Grey Chocolate cupcakes–mmm!); Aurelia (who used it as a topper for Banana Soft Serve Ice Cream–brilliant!); readers Rachel and […]


Leave a Reply

