OOH FAIL

… stands for Out Of Home fail.

Yesterday, me and the boyfriend headed out for some long-delayed bookselling. We usually take the public transportations, but doing so with about 60 pounds of books sounded like a pain in the butt… so we took the car. And while we were at if, we figured, why not hit the mall and do some shopping?

I don’t like malls. Yes, they’re convenient, but everybody else has noticed, so they’re usually crowded, too hot, bathed in either gloomy or neon-bright lightning and crappy music. Yet a girl must do what a girl must do, and I’ve postponed clothes’ shopping long enough… off to the mall we went.

In the end, it wasn’t so bad. At least the mall wasn’t. I treated myself to various products, on the other hand, that gave this post its title. Food-verse, the mall raid was an utter and total fail.

First came the smoothie: I stopped by Helixir. Since I lack experience in making my own smoothie, I ended up throwing random ingredients together, in the hope that the end result would be both nutrient-rich and somewhat tasty… it wasn’t. Next time, I’ll stick to the existing combos.

purple smoothie

Yuck.

Soy mike base, celery, mango and blueberry. It tasted like clay, with a faint hint of celery. I think the barista went wild with the soy milk… and the fruits tasted bland. Oh sure, the blueberry made the whole thing look pretty, but that’s it. I couldn’t even finish.

For lunch, I grabbed a mix of raw veggies (best part of the lunch, in the end), a goat cheese and spinach quiche that looked — and tasted — more like a savory-ish custard, and an oats bar by the brand “Taste of Nature”. After the quiche disaster, I was really looking forward to it, but it turned out to be sugary. And by sugary I mean, you know… SUGARY. I’m the only one to blame, for picking a product that lists both agave syrup and rice syrup as ingredients… Has anyone ever tried this brand?

Unpractical as it may be, I feel rather good about not enjoying processed products anymore. Especially since I’ve managed to wolf down the first three chapters of Crazy sexy diet… so far, so good: informative with a sassy twist, and giving refined foods a bad, bad name.

Poop look-alike chocolate frosting

Yes, we all know what this looks like. But read on, try the recipe. You'll see.

When we got home, I was in the mood for tasty, fulfilling food, so I decided to give Ricki’s Chocolate ‘Buttercream” Frosting. I haven’t been able to find coconut sugar, and don’t care much for stevia, so I used brown sugar and agave syrup instead; not exactly Anti-candida-diet friendly, but it was delicious. Like… OMG DELICIOUS. And so rich, I couldn’t finish the little portion I’d saved for dessert (I froze the rest so it wouldn’t get bad). Can you believe I’ve never had frosting before? Not much frosting gets done in French cooking. To decorate and/or enhance a dessert, we’re all about meringue, beaten egg yolks and fruit jelly.

My naturopathy appointment is on Thursday; I should know more about my foodie future then. I wonder what will come first: gluten-free or dairy-free? In any case, I feel like this is gonna a month of made-from-scratch meals…

Until then, I wish you all a great week-end!

2 Comments on “OOH FAIL”

  1. Ricki says:

    I’m so glad you liked it! And I bet the use of real sugar & agave in here made it incredibly rich and delicious–wish I could have it that way. 😀

    Good luck with your appointment on Thursday!


Leave a Reply

